What can nurses do to better help you?

Kitchell
Kitchell Member Posts: 62
I am an RN student and I would like to know what the nurses who care for you could do to better help you? I'm anxious to get your feedback! Please reply!

Comments

• stepet
    stepet Member Posts: 69
    I think the best thing a nurse can do is treat us all like human beings and not just a patient. We are more than our disease and we may just want to talk about things that have nothing to do with being sick. I remember when I had my bone marrow biopsy we had rock and roll christmas music going and we were talking about how we would celebrate the holiday. I don't think we talked about the biopsy once while I was in the middle of it, including my doctor. It was great I felt real, human not like a patient. It made the experience more personal and not as scarey. Just remember we all have our own personalities and some may be easier going than others, but with humor and kindness we all react the same. Human
  • Kitchell
    stepet said:

I think the best thing a nurse can do is treat us all like human beings and not just a patient. We are more than our disease and we may just want to talk about things that have nothing to do with being sick. I remember when I had my bone marrow biopsy we had rock and roll christmas music going and we were talking about how we would celebrate the holiday. I don't think we talked about the biopsy once while I was in the middle of it, including my doctor. It was great I felt real, human not like a patient. It made the experience more personal and not as scarey. Just remember we all have our own personalities and some may be easier going than others, but with humor and kindness we all react the same. Human

Thank you so much for your insight. If I were in your "shoes" I know I would feel the same way. That is how we feel anyway, in life, before illness happens. Right? Thank you. I will do that. Best of everything to you! If you have questions of me, just ask. K?