Heart Warming Story

cmcl
cmcl Member Posts: 78
edited March 2014 in Colorectal Cancer #1
Sometimes everybody needs to hear a heart warming story. Hear's mine.........
I was diagnose in 6/03 with Stage 4. I'm a Teacher Assistant in a public school. The idea of the staff donating their sick time did not pass through the board, although the teachers really wanted to. I basically have been working part time , every other week. My pay has been greatly affected. We have a group called the Sunshine Club. Everybody puts is $20 for the year. You get a gift if you have a baby, get married, are in the hospital, things like that. Since September I have received a gift basket every month filled with "feel good" goodies. Things like cumfy jammies, lounging clothes, bath soaps, hot chocolate, tea, books..... all in beautiful baskets. Normally the basket is left in my classrrom. Not in December. We were having our monthly breakfast, it was a week before Christmas, as I was presented with the gift. The teacher's room was full, I'm talking 40-50 people. I wasn't sure if I should open it then or wait until later. I decided to eat breakfast and chat. It was getting close to the time when school would begin and everybody was still in the room. They were waiting for me to open my gift. I took a beautiful box out of the gift bag. It's cream colord with blue and gold decoration, brass feet, and latch. I loved the box itself, but knew there was something inside. I opened the boxed, looked inside and quickly closed the lid. I did this about three times because I couldn't beleive what I saw inside this treasure box. Through the tears welled up in my eyes I opened the box a final time. It wasn't my imagination. It was full of money! They told me THEY were all my Secret Santa. Instead of exchanging gifts, the teachers, bussiness office, and admistration put all their money towards a gift to me. I couldn't even speak, I was so over whelmed. All I could say was thank you, thank you so much. I sa