Looking for support

Becca23
Becca23 Member Posts: 7
Hi! My name is Rebecca and Im 23 years old. I was diagnosed with Hodgkins in August as a stage 1b I believe (I was told I am between a stage I and II). I never had any symptoms, I had an x-ray due to a chest cold and it was found. Im suprised to see I have few true friends through this because most dont talk to me anymore. These are people I have known for years. This is my first time partcipating in any type of discussion group and I was just hoping I could get feedback because I would like to find people with similar experiences. Im almost half way through chemo (I need four cycles) and its hard. This feels like a bad dream can anyone relate?

Comments

• AlloMan
    AlloMan Member Posts: 47
    Dear Becca,

A familiar story. I think most of the people not talking to you might not know what to say. They don't know how to deal with someone with cancer. They fear cancer, don't want to deal with it or talk about it. If you didn't have cancer, what would you talk to them about? If you want to reach out to them, talk to them about that. Or you could simplify your life with fewer, better friends. During my treatment, I've found my true friends just don't say nice things, but DO nice things.

Cancer treatment can be very isolating. It's like a parallel universe. You don't see many cancer patients on the cover of People or GQ or on the news (unless they died). We're hidden away in our cancer wards, many of us not at work any more.

Any cancer support groups locally? That's one way to make new friends. There are also good bulletin boards by the Lymphoma Research Foundation and Leukemia & Lymphoma Society if you want some "virtual" friends you know where you're coming from.

This is like a bad dream. Take one day at a time. This too shall pass.
  • rvrkids
    rvrkids Member Posts: 3