Keeping the fear out of the mix

grettasmom
grettasmom Member Posts: 4
edited March 2014 in Colorectal Cancer #1
Well, I had a soft ball sized tumor removed from the colon on 3/15. The lymph nodes were removed and I'm told it has spread to the liver. My surgeon's partner (the grim reaper) came into the room while I was still pretty heavilly sedated and told my family and I in a MOST matter of fact voice what I outlined above and also that I would become more and more nauseous, lose all kinds of weight, have horrific diarrhia and that I was terminal...maybe 3 months to a year. WHAT THE HELL! There MUST be a better way to handle this situation. I actually feel better than I have for the past year. However, I'm constantly asking myself.....is that nausea?? Bowels are good, no diarrhia. I'm a realtor and the outreach from friends, fellow realtors and clients was so heartwarming, however, I feel like many of them are on the death watch, and that's a heck of an uncomfortable feeling. Anyway, I have taken responsibility for this cancer. I am a huge fan of Deepak Chopra and others, and I want very much to STAY POSITIVE!! Would love to hear your comments.

Comments

• KrisS
    KrisS Member Posts: 229
    Sorry to hear how your surgeon presented things. My surgeon was pretty matter of fact, but I had some knowledge of what I was up aginst and was pretty matter of fact myself. They still were kind. If you stay positive, I suspect that your friends will start to change. Most everyone I know knows generally what I have. I did walk around for 2 days with a chemo pump for 5-FU before I told anyone at work that I was on chemo. That gave me a bit more time to get used to the idea myself. They couldn't be quite as scared when they found out that I didn't look any different or any less cheerful than before.