rectal cancer treatments & surgery

s.w.johnson
s.w.johnson Member Posts: 10
edited March 2014 in Colorectal Cancer #1
I am new to the discussion group and I am checking to see if anyone has under gone surgery for rectal cancer.

Comments

• dont
    dont Member Posts: 8
    s.w. johnson:
    I UNDERWENT COLON CANCER SURGERY IN LATE JUNE OF LAST YEAR.IT WAS A STAGE 3,INTO THE LYMPH NODES.THE SURGEN REMOVED 18" OF MY COLON AND 7 NODES.
    I HAVE JUST COMPLETED 4 ROUNDS OF CHEMOTHERAPY AND 28 DAYS OF RADIATION AND CHEMO. COMBINATION.
    I AM VERY GLAD TO TELL YOU THAT I EXPERIANCED NO SIDE EFFECTS OF EITHER THE CHEMO OR THE RADIATION!!! I KNOW THAT I AM EXTREMELY FORTUNATE.I HAVE HAD GREAT DOCTORS,ONCOLIGISTS AND FAMILT AND FRIENDS SUPPORT.
    OTHER THAN A WEEK IN THE HOSPITAL AND A WEEK AND HALF AT HOME,I HAVE BEEN ABLE TO WORK EVERY DAY [DESK JOB]
    THE FUTURE IS NEVER CERTAIN FOR ANYONE,BUT WITH FOLLOW UP TESTING ,I LOOK FORWARD TO A LONG LIFE.
    GOOD LUCK TO YOU.
  • arntn
    arntn Member Posts: 15
    I had the surgery 5 years ago at age 46. I have had the maximum treatments of radiation and chemotherapy. I have a colostomy and live a fairly normal life - considering that I choose to irrigate daily and I love to eat!
  • s.w.johnson
    arntn said:

I had the surgery 5 years ago at age 46. I have had the maximum treatments of radiation and chemotherapy. I have a colostomy and live a fairly normal life - considering that I choose to irrigate daily and I love to eat!