Follow up blood work - concerned.

citizenklaw
citizenklaw Member Posts: 61 Member

Hello, team.

I'm not a doctor, and I don't pretend that any of you are. Some follow up bloodwork was done on me and I just want to compare notes. I have an upcoming appointment with my nephrologist.

Background: I had a nephrectomy in March. Tests performed approximately two weeks ago:

• Glucose - High 117
  • Bun - 19
  • eGFR (African American) 85
  • eGFR (Non-African American) 74 (Why on Earth they would separate this like that, IDK).

Pre-op

• Glucose - 127 
  • Bun 14.8
  • eGFR 59.9

So looking at the eGFR, which I think is the key one for us single kidney folk, that seems OK. Bun went up. I realize that blood tests are a point in time snapshot. What have you heard out there? I do remember being a bit dehydrated going in to this test. Maybe it's nothing, or maybe that's what it is with a single kidney. IDK. 

Ah, RCC. The gift that keeps on giving. :-/

Comments

• jroco
    jroco Member Posts: 25
    I would say with one kidney

I would say with one kidney those numbers look good other than the glucose. Thats the one my doctor gets on me about. Almost pre diabetic he says. Yours seems to have gone down some.  I dont know if you get blood work on a regular/yearly basis and have access to those numbers on a chart or graph. I will tell you I do, since 2011 my bun numbers run the gambit from 13 to 19 with no ryme or reason. Same with the EGFR, it runs the gambit.  Kind of weird but your EGFR went up after your full neph, case in point. Im 52 years old and I had a partial and our numbers are very similar. My EGFR is a tad higher or so at 80

• citizenklaw
    jroco said:

I would say with one kidney