Drive home after surgery.

icemantoo
icemantoo Member Posts: 3,361 Member
edited August 2019 in Prostate Cancer #1

Most of my posts are under Kidney Cancer where as a 17 year veteran I help the newbies.

I am having Prostate Surgery in about 6 weeks with Dr. Patel in Orlando. How many days should I wait before someone drives me home. About 3 hours.

icemantoo

Comments

• Clevelandguy
    Clevelandguy Member Posts: 999 Member
    Overnight?

Hi,

When I had my prostate robotically removed I stayed overnight in the hospital and went home the next day early afternoon.  From what I was told a one night stay is pretty common.

Dave 3+4

• Josephg
    Josephg Member Posts: 383 Member
    Overnight

I was held overnight for observation following my prostate surgery, as well.

• Max Former Hodgkins Stage 3
    Max Former Hodgkins Stage 3 Member Posts: 3,812 Member
    24 hours

I also got one night in the hospital following R.P. , was awakened the next morning at around7:00 AM, forced out of bed to start walking the hallway. Was in the car headed to the house by noon.

• lighterwood67
    lighterwood67 Member Posts: 374 Member
    2 nights

I had to stay 2 nights.  My surgery started later than scheduled.  I did not get out of recovery until 9:00 PM that night.  They would not release me until I had a bowel movement.  If the surgery was on time, I was scheduled to stay only 1 night.  Good luck on your journey.

• jeffman
    jeffman Member Posts: 46 Member
    I was kept in the hospital

I was kept in the hospital for 1 night.. I wish it had been 2. I was very uncomfortable after surgery  and had the catheter. It might have been better if i were 75 pounds lighter but the 2 mile ride home was not a joy ride, However everybodys experience is different.

• tkbbn
    tkbbn Member Posts: 4
    edited September 2019 #7
    2 nights also