Transitioning from alternative medicine to hormone therapy - advice, experience?

stanh
stanh Member Posts: 2

Hello--

I've been pursuing alternative treatment with naturopaths for more than two years with little success and am likely switching to conventional hormone therapy.

DETAILS: PSA was 5 in 2014, not too concerned as the guy who invented the PSA test now recommends it not be used at all. Focused on other health issues, especially weekly bouts of AFIB lasting 8-24 hours each.

A few naturopaths later I found one who cleared up my AFIB within three months. He was also addressing likely prostate cancer as my PSA had risen steadily to over 20 by that time. After a year with continually increasing PSA had an MRI (I have thus far avoided a needle biopsy because of the risk of spreading the cancer and other complications) which showed two tumors, both protruding outside the capsule. 

Switched to a naturopath who specializes in cancer (should have done it sooner--but when the first naturopath cleared my AFIB I thought he would be able to handle it). He began very aggressive naturopathic treatments right away: a bunch of supplements, IV vitamin C three times a week, with several other therapies at the same time. I've been with him since October (it's now May). He's switched up the the treatment plan a few times as we weren't seeing the kind of progress both of had hoped for--now I'm on IV sodium bicarbonate and IV ALA (each once a week) along with ozone delivered rectally and also in a steam cabinet (HOCATT), mistletoe, and other therpies.

My PSA has been hovering around 50 since January--so the treatments have had some success--PSA was going up exponentially before. During that time there's been one drop of 3 points and one of 1.1 points, compensated for by rises. So we seem to be in a holding pattern.