Recently diagnosed - questions about treatment

LannyP
LannyP Member Posts: 32

Hello, I'm new to the prostate cancer forum and would like to start out by thanking all the members here for their kindness and generosity in helping out so many in need.

I was recently diagnosed with prostate cancer.  I'm 61, don't smoke, don't drink, eat a healthy diet, get a moderate amount of exercise and maybe about 10 pounds overweight.  No problems with urinary function, feel pretty much the same way I did when I was a young guy.

I've been getting my annual PSA and DRE exam with a urologist for the past 3 years. In December of last year my DRE was still normal but he noticed my PSA had gone from 4 to 6.5 so he ran some more tests and decided to schedule a biopsy for me in January 2019.

He called me a couple of weeks ago and said the pathology had revealed a tiny amount of cancerous cells in 4 of 12 cores and he would discuss all the details with me when I come for my follow up visit. 

He said he wanted to have a genomic test performed before our consultation to get a better idea of the level of aggressiveness of the cancerous tumor in my prostate.

I believe he's ordered the Prolaris genomic test because the other day I noticed an entry from Myriad Genetic Laboratories on my health insurance which I check online.

My follow up consultation is scheduled for next Monday morning February 18th.  I'm hoping for the best but preparing for the worst.

Question - If I have to have immediate treatment, is surgery or radiation better? How does a person decide between the two? I've been trying to educate myself and it seems both surgery and radiation have fairly equal outcomes success-wise but both can also involve some pretty negative side effects.

Many thanks to all, hope to hear from you soon.

Lanny

Comments

• cralco
    cralco Member Posts: 7
    treatment

Hi,