Eligard (How Long)

Claudio
Claudio Member Posts: 4
edited June 2023 in Prostate Cancer #1

Hello this is my first time using this forum. I was diagnosed with agressive prostate cancer two years ago. Gleason 9-10. PSA was 9.0 . After surgery to remove prostate, my PSA was down to 0.65 (scans showed a bit of cancer spread to surgical area lymph nodes) I started on Eligard, did radiation therapy and my hospital offered Optional chem therapy (which i took) my current PSA is zero. Now back to Eligard, the side effects of hot flashes and sweat are really bothering me. im thinking of not taking the last (4th injection) I would like to know your experiences for people who took less than 4 treatments. 

Comments

• VascodaGama
    VascodaGama Member Posts: 3,638 Member
    Balancing the treatment with quality of life in mind

Claudio,

Welcome to the board.

Typically, ADT is administered with palliative intent to control further advancement of the cancer. In long protocol periods it is administered intermittently to avoid earlier refractory. The goal will not involve cure so that one should balance such a control with due quality of life.
    Oncologists decide on the protocol with considerations to the overall treatment. In combo therapies involving radiation or chemo, ADT is added to facilitate and improve the action of the prime treatment that provides the killing of the cancer. ADT sensitizes cells' receptors during a longer period so these become more susceptive to absorb the destructive blow damaging cell's DNA while on its life cycle. The process requires an adjuvant period on ADT. I wonder what has been established in your case. If the term of the treatment includes your last shot then you should only stop it after consulting your doctor. Surely you can inquire on the possibility in having it intermittently or end it all to allow you time to recuperate from the side effects.

Can you describe the times of the treatment and the length of the Eligard shot?