Dealing with the Family

Noneya
Noneya Member Posts: 35

Been reading for a long time but first time poster. 57 years old 2 years ago stage3 crc surgery with 1 year Chemo. Let's just say local oncologist is a quack but only option at that time and Me to stupid to know better (trust Me I'm a Doctor). declared cured(never want to here that lie again). Two follow ups Two blood test no scans during complete time of 2 years. fast forward to Dec 1,17 rushed to Er after my Granddaughter's 9 mounth old Golden pup jump up to see me cracking my sternum. After xrays ambulanced to hospital in next state as metastis found in lungs on xray. complete workup of five days inpatient ICU. Found in liver and lungs biggest 5x2 cm no not mm total 5 spots 1 in liver 4 in 4lobes of lungs not operatal at this time. released and sent home to await Dr's in mean time got second opion closer to home at local college hospital that just opened a new cancer treatment center two months ago. Will say even though the Dr lacks any real bedside manner I really like her bluntness. eg( no treatment hospice in two months, pallitive 24 or more.) Started chemo blah blah blah. 

I've known that I was high risk all my life' worked in hazmat and bio remediation before rubber suits was norm heck major improvement was tyvek coveralls you didn't have to wash each day. While in hospital I came to terms that at best I would have a long stalemate with this. We didn't tell kids till after christmas but now am feeling guilty as they want to help by taking care of Dad. I mean that even at my parttime job working for me. For some reason they think I should quit everything I do and just rest. NOT GOIN HAPPEN yes there are things that either take longer or I need more breaks to get done. My biggest problem is the stress of not being able to get them to deal with it.