Newbie here. A few questions

SonicSedition
SonicSedition Member Posts: 30
edited May 2018 in Colorectal Cancer #1

Hey Everyone,

Newbie here. Like most of you, I never thought this would be a forum I would be joining, but ... here I am. I'm sure I will be inundating you guys with all kinds of questions and I'm glad an outlet like this exists for us. Thank you ACS! Personally, I am in good spirits considering, and trying to stay positive. I'm sure this helps. 

Recently diagnosed about a month ago with colorectal cancer, small but deep. T3 N0 M0 stage IIa. I am about to start a 5 1/2-week round of Chemo (pills, Xeloda)  and Rad 5 days a week. Like most of you I've spent mega hours doing research but thought I'd get some firsthand experience from you guys. I do realize that everyone has different experiences with these chemo drugs/radiation, but I figured I'd ask. At least to get a sence of what to expect. 

So, if any of you out there have, or are going through this, I would appreciate you sharing your experience.Thanks!

Comments

• Mikenh
    Mikenh Member Posts: 777
    I went through the Neo

I went through the Neo-Adjuvant chemo routine that you are about to start.

The radiation started to get painful for me about 2-3 weeks into it and got progressively more painful in that it made holes and things could go out through those holes. The rectum was affected as well and there may have been pain there. The pain went away two weeks after finishing. In general, they'll ask you to drink a fair amount of water 30 minutes before your appointment. The actual radiation treatment doesn't take that long once you get started. Maintain communication with the radioilogy doctor and staff as they can offer stuff to deal with the pains. There are some that have had quite a bit more problems than I have had.