Question re Cancer Becoming Immune to Chemo

JanJan63
JanJan63 Member Posts: 2,478 Member

I should have asked my onc yesterday but I forgot. I know some people's cancer becomes immune to the chemo that's been working for them but I don't know the numbers. Does that usually happen, commonly? Is it sometimes? Rarely? I'm not good at looking up information for some reason but I know some of you on here are great at it. Please share with us what the numbers are.

Thank you!

Jan

Comments

• beaumontdave
    beaumontdave Member Posts: 1,280 Member
    Not my forte, either

I've looked at a dozen blogs and forums and can't find any definitive time frames or measured studies on chemo immunity development, but I don't doubt that the better investigators here could pull up an answer.............................................Dave

• Vette04
    Vette04 Member Posts: 7
    Found this

Jan, I found this and it does seem to suggest that the cancer will mutate/evolve to avoid desctruction and more personalized treatments would be necessary to acheive the desired results.  Just to be clear, I'm not a medical professional I just tried to summarize this long paper, that I only read part of, into one sentence.

Below is the link to the site and I copied and pasted the papers conclusion below that.

Mark

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4699262/