active surveillance

Any body on active surveillance status? Just wondering how often blood work required and biospy is done.

I am considering it once i get my oncotype dx testing back .  I have 3+3=6 gleason score t2a 25% left mid 

psa 2.97. negative for lymphovascular or perineural invasion 61 years old also considering robotic surgery

at Vanderbilt with Mr Joseph Smith who has done thousands. Any input greatly appreciated'

Thamks Frank

Comments

• hopeful and optimistic
    hopeful and optimistic Member Posts: 2,339 Member

There is some difference between institutions that administer Active Surveillance.......if you click my name to the the left you will come to the about me page that will show exactly what I have done, and active surveillance sites by professional in the field.

If you are eleigible , active suveillance is the perferred treatment since there are NO side effects. It can last a life time. I've been doing it since March 2009.

Please provide specifics about your situation; biopsy results, number of cores taken? You mention only one core that is positive with 25 percent involvement, any others? Any other information revealed in the biopsy.  ...Have you had a second opinion of the pathology results by a world class institution. There is a difference among pathologists and facilities. ...there may be a reclasification based on a second opinion......Johns Hopkins is a great institution for prostate pathology.  

DRE digital rectal exam, I think that you mentioned that there is a bump, please detail the information;

what is your psa history? did you have a FREE PSA or any other diagnostic tests? 

Any image tests?

What led to you receiving a biopsy.

• Clevelandguy
    Clevelandguy Member Posts: 980 Member
    More tests/More time?

Hi,