Confused about aggressive

Bryn1108
Bryn1108 Member Posts: 97 Member

So, my cancer WAS stage 11 aggressive,  I have read that cancer grows only so much each year,  then I have seen and heard of some that within few months it has spread fast,  I'M CONFUSED.  

Comments

• APny
    APny Member Posts: 1,995 Member
    Not sure I understood your

Not sure I understood your question but aggressive doesn't necessarily mean it will spread, especially since yours was stage 1, the earliest stage. Grade can usually indicate the aggressiveness of cancer with 3 and 4 being considered aggressive, and 1 being non-aggressive. Aggressive refers to how fast the cancer grows and spreads but if you're stage 1 (I assume that's what you meant and not 11)  it has obviously not spread anywhere. Hopefully your surgery was the end of it. Did they grade yours a 3?

• Bryn1108
    Answer

Sorry, I was a stage 2, aggressive,  my question was if the cells grow slow,  why do they say aggressive?  I'm new at everything.  Lol

• Max57
    Max57 Member Posts: 177 Member
    RCC Grow slow

When i had mine i read alot talks alot asked so many questions i always heard that RCC Grows slow ....

• lobbyist0724
    lobbyist0724 Member Posts: 515 Member
    In general, RCC grows slowly

In general, RCC grows slowly when it is small (<= 3cm). Then the growth rate will increase along with the increase in size. Which is why the cutoff for watchful surveillance is 3 cm.

• APny
    APny Member Posts: 1,995 Member
    Bryn, did they say what grade

Bryn, did they say what grade it was? That may be why they said aggressive. While mine was a stage 1, it was grade 3 (mostly 2 but some 3 cells) so he did consider it aggressive. Again, that doesn't mean it'll recur and spread. Only that if undiscovered and left alone it would have. But you had surgery so hopefully that's not an issue.

• ImNotDeadYet
    ImNotDeadYet Member Posts: 244
    How big is your tumor?