mental and physical exhaustion after surgery

Tucdon
Tucdon Member Posts: 19

I had surgery to remove my right kidney 5 weeks ago, and now t seems i am tired all the time and if  try an use my mind to for a while I get disoriented and extremely tired. I have pains but I figure they come with the surgery hopefully my Dr. s correc twhen he says they will get better. My right testicule is the worst. I am a service technician so the mind thing conerns me.Hope sme one can give a clue.

Comments

• icemantoo
    icemantoo Member Posts: 3,361 Member
    edited June 2017 #2
    A few more weeks and months to go

Tucdon,

I had just turned 59 when I was nephed almost 15 years ago. At 5 weeks and over 60 you are going to take a little longer than 5 weeks to recover. On the bright side I water skied 11 months later for my 60th birthday.

Icemantoo

• Steve.Adam
    Steve.Adam Member Posts: 463 Member
    edited June 2017 #3
    Hi Tucdon

I had my right kidney removed in February this year.  I was quite tired at first but got progressively better.  i was pretty much OK after 2 months.  I didn't have too much mental tiredness.  My right testicle was no longer sore after about a month but is still larger then the left.

Steve.

• Jan4you
    Jan4you Member Posts: 1,330 Member
    Sorry to hear about your

Sorry to hear about your struggles, Tucdon. Sometimes it can be the side effects of meds, including GENERAL anethesia which takes it time to be fully eliminiated. Sometimes we are more sensitive in processing our medications (not just pain meds) if you have a sluggish liver and now your one kidney.

BUT you could be anemic. If you are, it makes you really tired and sluggish too. Ask to have your iron checked. They sell Slow FE over the counter. I had to ask my surgeon to check my iron even though he thought I should be fine. It was low. 

This too shall pass. Make sure you are getting proper nutrients into your healing body as well.

Sending you healing vibes and hugs, 

Jan