Met bone pain from radiation

scor2016
scor2016 Member Posts: 10

Hello, This is my first time posting.  My husband was diagnosed March 30 with RCC.  He had his left kidney removed on April 24th.  Tumor size was 12cm.  He has a solitary bone met to the sacrum area.  He has received 10 radiation treatments which ended on May 26th.  He is having severe pain.  Is this normal and how long does it last? This is all new to us. Btw he is 56 and has always been healthy.  

Comments

• todd121
    todd121 Member Posts: 1,448 Member
    Welcome

Sorry you have to be here. I just wanted to welcome you and say hi. I don't know about the pain from the radiation because I've never had it. I hope someone else will chime in with that information.

Wishing you the best,

Todd

• scor2016
    Thank you Todd. I wish I didn

Thank you Todd. I wish I didn't have to be here but I'm sure no one does. But this is a good place to find out what others have experienced and gain some knowledge.

• foxhd
    foxhd Member Posts: 3,181 Member
    edited June 2017 #4
    Yes.

My experience has been painful but not always. Radiation may initially hurt quite a bit. Radiation has been very effective for me. After a couple/ few weeks the pain relief is incredible and the mets have been stopped in their tracks. I remember when radiation wasn't considered effective. It has done wonders for me. There is no reason for you to think differently at this point.

• Bellafelice
    Bellafelice Member Posts: 57 Member
    Pain from radiation