30 year old, diagnosed with grade 4 cRCC

sucotai
sucotai Member Posts: 19

Hi, 

It's my first time posting here. I am a 30 year old male, diagnosed with clear cell RCC in November 2016, with radical nephrectomy done. Pathology report showed 2.2cm tumor, no lymph node involvement, but it is grade 4, with no sarcomatoid feature. I have been doing some research, and the fact that it is grade 4 scares me. To be honest, the thought of my parents at my own funeral is the worst thing I can think of.

I recently got conneted with an RCC oncologist, who recommended a full body CT scan plus bone scan for accurate staging, scheduled for tomorrow. I guess the scanxiety is partly the reason I finally posted in a cancer forum. Also, it doesn't really help that all the authors of cancer survivor blogs that I have been following have passed away recently...

Anyone know of any stories of patients with high grade RCCs?

Comments

• Bay Area Guy
    Bay Area Guy Member Posts: 618 Member
    edited January 2017 #2
    I don't have much I can share

I don't have much I can share with you.  I just wanted to respond so this thread could jump back to the top so others might see it.

• Dutch1
    Dutch1 Member Posts: 152
    The world of kidney cancer

The world of kidney cancer (all cancers, I guess) is full of technical information.  The way I understand your information and the way I understand mine, I believe that we're in the same boat.  I am stage 4 and grade 4.  I would think that you will be a lower stage than me, as your tumor is a lot smaller than mine was.  Also, my cancer had spread to the adrenal gland and several lymph nodes by the time this mess was discovered.  With that all said, take some cheer in the fact that I (and you have more favorable staging, is that right?) am approaching the 4-year anniversary of my surgery.  So, your life has been changed and has been threatened, but your fight has just started.  A lot of people are living with cancer.  Lots.