Lifestyle changes

Steve.Adam
Steve.Adam Member Posts: 463 Member
edited October 2016 in Kidney Cancer #1

I got a letter from the urology clinic. They have reviewed my case and will give me an appointment. They will contact me six weeks before the appointment date.

I don't have money to see a urologist privately so I will just have to wait. Actually I don't really mind (as long as it IS a slow growing thing) since it gives me some preparation time.

I have decided to make myself as healthy as possible while I am waiting.

I have been eating a low carb diet for about 18 months and my type 2 diabetes is gone. My health is now quite good in all areas except for the kidney tumour. I haven't felt better since my twenties.

I have done some one, two and a couple of three day fasts and found them quite easy to do. I am going to do them a bit more often in coming weeks and perhaps try a longer fast.

What I will not do is take any strange supplements, though I am open to suggestion. Maybe a little more turmeric in my food...

I'll let you all know how I go.

Steve.

Comments

• Abunai
    Abunai Member Posts: 173 Member
    edited October 2016 #2
    Not a supplement guy myself.

I've done low carb, off and on, for years. It helped me loose over 100 pounds at one point. I'm still 80 pounds down from my heaviest.

I have started eating more anti-angiogenic foods though. Some of them don't fit the induction phase of a lot of low carb diets, but I've never seen a person get fat eating apples and the like, so why not? ;)

• hardo718
    hardo718 Member Posts: 853 Member
    edited October 2016 #3
    I take supplements

including turmeric fairly regularly.  I also take, at the recommendation of my uro/onc, a pure cranberry capsule daily but that may be due to the fact that I've always been prone to UTI's. 

Yes, kidney tumors tend to be slow growers, but I personally wouldn't wait too long about that appointment.