Finally, my story briefly

Kat23502
Kat23502 Member Posts: 179 Member

I'll post on my "about me" page but I figured it was about time I posted a bit about my story. It's a bit convoluted so I'll keep it at a minimum. I'm a college professor that teaches in medical imaging (this includes CT, x-ray, and ultrasound) and I've actively worked in the hospital patient care setting for well over a decade as well before moving to academia full time. In January of 2014 I was demonstrating a new ultrasound machine and while scanning myself, saw what appeared to be a mass on my left kidney. While not a typical solid mass appearance I did go have a CT with and without contrast that day. One of my co-workers read the CT and issued the report, I also read the CT, there was zero enhancement, other than a small area where the contour of my kidney changed slightly, there was no indication of a mass. It was assumed to be something called a persistent lobulation (a bump in the kidney leftover from when my kidney developed). One year later almost to the day I was demonstrating a new machine and this time I saw the mass and knew immediately it was RCC. I wasn't sure how much the area had grown but this time it was a clearly defined mass. I had a CT within a day or two and this time there was a clear mass with definite enhancement. I called the urologist I knew I wanted and on February 16 I had a robotic assisted partial nephrectomy. Path report came back as a 2.9 cm clear cell RCC Fuhrman grade 2. This put me at stage T1a. I had a noncontast CT in June which was all clear and will have a with and without in October. So far, so good! Hopefully I'm done with it forever. I have a seven year old and it terrifies me to even think about this coming back. Anyway, that's it for now. Reading this forum has allowed me to keep my sanity through all of this and not allow panic to take over, for the most part. So, I appreciate you all and figured it was finally time to say hello!

Comments

• APny