Time to retire and move to Florida.

icemantoo
icemantoo Member Posts: 3,361 Member
edited September 2015 in Kidney Cancer #1

I woke up one day in March after a long cold Michigan Winter and decided that after 72 years, winter was not for me anymore. Flew to Florida, purchased a small villa in Royal Palm Beach and embarked on a 6 month job of fixing up and selling our home we just moved into 45 years ago. One week from today Piper, Icewoman and I fly to Florida for good. We will be youngsters in a 55 and over community.

Not much to do once we get settled. I will still try and help a Newbie here and there on this board and others and try and make their journey a little easier than mine.

I will also putter around on Tripadvisor where I am a Destination Expert for Algoquin Park and I try and help people spot and enjoy moose in the wilderness.

Icemantoo

Comments

• Denisedh
    Denisedh Member Posts: 28
    Enjoy Florida!

72 years of michigan winters?  You earned your nickname Iceman!

• icemantoo
    icemantoo Member Posts: 3,361 Member
    Denisedh said:

Enjoy Florida!

72 years of michigan winters?  You earned your nickname Iceman!

Michigan Winters

I got my name icemantoofrom the fact that both my father and grangfather were in the retail ice business selling ice to the natives in the summer.

Icemantoo

• Phredswife
    Phredswife Member Posts: 162
    Safe travels

Enjoy your retirement. Florida sounds lovelySmile

• APny
    APny Member Posts: 1,995 Member

Safe travels

Enjoy your retirement. Florida sounds lovelySmile

A new chapter; how exciting!

A new chapter; how exciting! May your move be smooth and painless. We'll be joining you in Florida by next summer, except a little farther south in Boynton. NY winters are wearing us down as well though we have nothing on your Michiganians :)

• Allochka
    Allochka Member Posts: 1,060 Member
    APny said:

A new chapter; how exciting!