New here...father diagnosed with Stage 2 Mesothelioma and Stage 1 Lung Cancer

addomini75
addomini75 Member Posts: 2

Hello, I am new to understanding cancer, the stages, and survival rates.  My dad was diagnosed with Lung cancer and mesotheliona almost a year ago.  He tells me that the stage 1 lung cancer was treated with the chemo and there are no traces of it so far with his follow up CT's.  However, the mesothelioma is a different story.  After intense chemo and radiation, he developed Radiation Pheumonitis which has caused debilitation of his daily life activities.  He tries to remain positive, but when he develops fevers and has coughing spells, he becomes so agnry, irritated, and frustrated.  I feel so helpless because I live 4 states away from him and cannot be there to help him through this.  Does anyone have any information regarding the stage of mesothelioma he has and this radiation pheumonitis?  He does not like to talk about it because it makes him upset so I feel like I am in the dark about everything.  Thanks for any advise or information anyone is willing to share!!

Comments

• dennycee
    dennycee Member Posts: 857 Member
    Addomini75-
    first- forget

Addomini75-

first- forget what you read about stages and survival rates.  They are based on that mind numbing statistical average of tens of 1000s of people.  They are not useful in predicting the outcome of one single person.  Based on numbers like those, I was told that I could expect to survive 10-15 months with treatment.   That was in 10/2010.  

• addomini75
    addomini75 Member Posts: 2
    dennycee said:

Addomini75-
    first- forget

Addomini75-

first- forget what you read about stages and survival rates.  They are based on that mind numbing statistical average of tens of 1000s of people.  They are not useful in predicting the outcome of one single person.  Based on numbers like those, I was told that I could expect to survive 10-15 months with treatment.   That was in 10/2010.