experimental PSA blood test to prevent unnecessary biopsies

Hello, I am new to this forum and had my first PSA test last year.  It was normal but I have relatives who have died from prostate cancer.  I am an engineer and biotechnology entrepreneur.  My early stage start-up company is developing a prostate cancer blood test to discriminate between prostatitis, benign prostate hyperplasia (BPH) and prostate cancer – preventing unnecessary biopsies.  The test has been validated in a laboratory.  We are at the point of seeking seed stage funding to optimize and validate the test clinically on cancer patient blood samples.  I am not asking for money.  I am seeking feedback from men who had elevated PSA, then a biopsy, whether positive or negative, and the outcome.  Would such a test have been useful to your situation?  Why or why not?  Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.  Thank you.

Sincerely,

WSolstice 

Comments

• hopeful and optimistic
    hopeful and optimistic Member Posts: 2,339 Member
    Dear WSolstice,
    Thanks for

Dear WSolstice,

Thanks for your research. I hope that you enjoy success.

I wonder how your test compares to a free PSA test.

http://www.harvardprostateknowledge.org/what-is-the-difference-between-psa-and-free-psa

and a PCA3 urine test.

I am sorry for the your family history of PCa. Stay viligent; PSA's and digital rectal exams.  Check the trend for your  PSA tests.

Best, 

H

• VascodaGama
    VascodaGama Member Posts: 3,638 Member
    Excellent to avoid false negatives

WSolstice

Welcome to the board.

All non invasive ways to diagnose prostate cancer is good and advisable. I wonder how your simple blood test distinguishes between prostatitis, benign prostate hyperplasia (BPH) and prostate cancer.