Diet Sodas

avdoty
avdoty Member Posts: 62

Periodically I read posts that mention the need for RCC patients to cut out diet sodas and caffeine from their diets. I've been a 4 to 5 can/day soda drinker for many years.  I drink soda like other people drink coffee.  Last week I was out with some friends and the diet drink issue came up.  They were adamant about how bad it was to drink it but couldn't really say why. So I did a little research (not exhaustive) and found that there were studies that found a correlation between drinking the stuff and health issues but there seems to be a lack of understanding of what exactly the soda does biologically that is bad. Even with the lack of specificity that was enough to make me quit drinking it -- went cold turkey 2 weeks ago.  Does anyone know what diet soda does that is especially bad for kidney cancer patients?

Comments

• pamstayner
    pamstayner Member Posts: 111 Member
    Diet Soda

Interesting subject.... I am no expert, and I have no background in science,  BUT,  I am experienced as a Diet Soda drinker.  I am also a stage 4 clear cell kidney cancer patient.  I drank diet sodas since the day TAB came out.  And somewhere 20 plus years ago, replaced that with diet coke.  The sachrine days, and nor the other artificial sweetner,, aspertime is it?  My addiction was way over the top.... probably 10 to 12 cans a day.... everyday... at least.  I remember when some study came out about the artifical sugar... sachrine... and how they fed mice a gallon a day and they got tumors all over their bodies.... I remember scoffing at that saying you could feed way over normal limits of even coffee and that would probably do the same... so what does that prove... Well, years ago when I realized I was so addicted to the diet coke I said when I die, I would donate my kidneys to science to see what it does to a 40 year dose of gallons a day in a human.