Life is just full of surprises.

Well, I've never done this before but I am to the point of serious anxiety about this. So here it is: I am a healthy 22 yr old, white male. I am 6'1" and apprx. 190lbs. About four weeks ago I had a really bad bout of strep throat. Since then and before that point I have been in good health. Anyway, about two weeks ago I noticed a small swollen lymph node in my groin area about 1.5 cm. I also noticed a much smaller, barely noticable, lymph node close to it. I have also had a pretty constant itch in my groin area for about 2-3 months. For about three years now I have had a swollen lymph node on the left side of my neck. It has been checked several times by different doctors and they all told me to relax that some lymph nodes just take a long time to simmer down. Anyway, with this swollen groin lymph node and itch I have been worried. I went and saw a nurse the other day because the docotor was not availible on such short notice. The nurse is very worried. She said that the lymph node in my groin is an early sign of a serious condition. Right after I finished with her I recieved a blood test and did a urinalysis. So far I have only been informed that I do NOT currently have mono. They are going to get back to me Monday with the rest of the test results. The lymph node in my groin is hard, does not move, and does not hurt at all. It is not tender or anything. My sister died of liver cancer when she was seven years old. She suffered terribly a year prior to her death. I was told her suffering was due mostly to the treatments she recieved and not the actual disease. Anyway, I only mention this because my problem is not with dieing. I don't care about death I care about how I die. I don't want to do things that are just going to kill my insides and leave me feeling sick and generally lifeless. Blah... Anyway, if anyone knows how long you can live without treatment please let me know. Any advice or general comments would be much appreciated.