Change of pace

foxhd
foxhd Member Posts: 3,181 Member

I was thinking... No Thaxter, the smoke is not from the MJ... I was thinking. Cancer sure does change us. The shock. The panic. The praying and deal making. The acceptance. The short term plans vs. long term plans.

At first I dealt with the diagnosis and surgery pretty easily. I expected to get better. No big deal. 6 months later I was selling things and preparing to die. There were no long term goals.  There was no point in continuing with exercise. There wasn't much point in doing anything. So I retired. All I wanted was time to smell the roses before the end. I was in pain and couldn't do much anyway. Living on percocets....if tumors were football players, I could have played both sides of the ball in the Superbowl.

Here is the funny part.  I had been jogging for 30 years. Lots of road races and a half dozen marathons. Light weight training. But due to a pizza and beer diet, I was getting a belly and feeling old. So I decided that it was time to lose weight and get back into better shape. Me and a bunch of biker friends all committed to support each other with the goal of being in the best shape of our lives when we died. I didn't know how prophetic (?) it was..(.I didn't have a cancer diagnosis yet.)

I got better, I got worse. Always trying to keep my head screwed on tight. And right. First the MDX-1106 (now nivolumab) trial for 18 months. Radiation. Then this past year the IL-2 treatments. Forget cancer. The IL-2 treatments made me feel like being dead may not be so bad. Weight loss. Strength loss. Psychosis. I needed help to get up from a chair. It was hard to imagine feeling worse. But I started to get better again.