Sleeping tips for pump stage IV

refusetolose
refusetolose Member Posts: 10
edited January 2014 in Colorectal Cancer #1

I am new to this discussion board, but I am in need of some advice. My boyfriend of five years has stage IV rectal cancer at the age of 27. We have been getting treatment since September. He is on a two week cycle of receiving chemotherapy drips all day on Tuesdays and goes home with a 48 hour pump of 5FU. He got his port put in before the first treatment, but after his second treatment he got a bacterial infection of the blood and they took the port out as a precaution. They put in a PICC line because we had to do IV antibiotics every night for 8 weeks. He was receiving treatment through a PICC line, but now we are done with the IV antibiotics and he got the port put back in for these last two treatments. He has trouble sleeping through the night because he is worried that he will roll over on the needle. Does anyone have any sleeping tips to help him sleep through the two nights he is on the pump? Thanks for the help! #REFUSETOLOSE

Comments

• Trubrit
    Trubrit Member Posts: 5,796 Member
    Heartbreaking

I am so very sorry that your young man has to face this terrible disease. I can't believe how young he is for stage 4. We have too many young people being diagnosed. I am shocked!

I am glad you found this site, as it will be a help to both him and to you as caregiver. 

I was also scared to roll over when I first came home with the pump. I am a mover in bed, never staying in the same position, so it was quite frightening. What I did was to purchase two body pillows. I put on each side of me, and slept on my back (I hate sleeping on my back). It worked for me, and I never ever had probelms rolling over or pulling on the tube. 

Of course, it made the bed a little tight when hubby was sleeping with me, but we managed. He only got pushed out of bed a few times. HA!