port issues...cant walk more than few steps

debi1054
debi1054 Member Posts: 2

I had colon surgery april 4th.. got port put in 3 weeks ago....they took out all the right half of colon and some large bowel...the other day I felt I ad pain under my right side ribcage and everytime I took a breath would hurt in ribcage and my port area up shoulder and into arm...is that part of the healing or wasmit part of my 2nd chemo I just had... also cant walk more than 20 steps without having to stop and rest cuz legs want to give out and get shortness of breath

Comments

• Beachlace
    Beachlace Member Posts: 37
    Im new to all this.  Having

Im new to all this.  Having port installed tomorrow morning.  I would definitely call my onc if I had those symptoms just to be on the safe side.  Let us know.  

• Trubrit
    Trubrit Member Posts: 5,796 Member
    Call now

I would definitely call your Oncologist today.  There could be a leak. a movement of the port, anything really. There are tons of side effects with chemo, but pain like that I would look in to. 

Good luck, and be sure to visit us often. You won't regret it. We are travelling the same road and have allot to offer. 

• Phil64
    Phil64 Member Posts: 838 Member
    call your doctor

Those do not sound like expected side effects. I would call my doctor immediately if I experienced those side-effects.

Good Luck!

Phil

• AnnLouise
    AnnLouise Member Posts: 276 Member
    I agree......

Call your oncologist immediately.....the side effects seem to be extreme. Let us know what you find out...~Ann

• debi1054
    debi1054 Member Posts: 2
    port issue

I gonna call him... bad thing I am out of state for wedding hope maybe I slept wrong on it

• annalexandria
    annalexandria Member Posts: 2,571 Member
    debi1054 said:

port issue

I gonna call him... bad thing I am out of state for wedding hope maybe I slept wrong on it

I would call your doc,