Avastin?

I have uterine cancer. 2007 total hysterectomy and 28 radiations. Jan 2012 mets to lungs and abdomen, started once a month chemo with carboplatin and taxol, May mets to rib bone and spreading, affecting nerve bundle in back shoulder, 19 radiations, July 2 mets in brain, gamma knife and good results, newest CT shows new mets in omentum and untreated lung has grown slightly, and 3 unidentified lesions on top of my liver. No more chemo. Dr. said maybe Avastin but most insurances don't pay for it - anyone with experience on the insurance? Has anyone received Avastin? Is it or did it help at all? Has anyone with advanced uterine Mets received some other treatment I can draw their attention to?

Comments

• beila
    beila Member Posts: 97 Member
    avastin
    Karenhopeful

I have no direct experience, but I have seen Avastin mentioned repeatedly on this site.

The most inspiring thing I have seen here was from a woman callled "Artist 49"
    She is enjoying a year and a half REMISSION from her stage 4 USPC
    She was on a clinical trial at Sloan Kettering since Nov 2010
    It consisted of 4 months of AVASTIN, carboplatin and Ixempra, followed by ongoing maintennance of AVASTIN every 3 weeks.
    She feels well

I dont know how this is done, as I am computer-challenged, but she has invited people to contact her with any questions

I know that her situation certainly gave me much needed encouragement

Let us know, and all the best to you,
    Beila
  • daisy366
    daisy366 Member Posts: 1,458 Member
    beila said:

avastin
    Karenhopeful

I have no direct experience, but I have seen Avastin mentioned repeatedly on this site.

It consisted of 4 months of AVASTIN, carboplatin and Ixempra, followed by ongoing maintennance of AVASTIN every 3 weeks.
    She feels well

I dont know how this is done, as I am computer-challenged, but she has invited people to contact her with any questions

Beila

Karenhopeful