Dealing with recurrence #2

daisy366
daisy366 Member Posts: 1,458 Member
Hi Ladies,

I've been laying low for awhile, managing this second recurrence. I took letrozole (generic Femara) for 5 months while watching CA125 rise steadily - and more rapidly in last couple of months - now near 140.

I've been practicing alternative energy medicine for a couple of years and went to Boston in July for treatments. I am also on a personalized anti-cancer diet recommended by holistic nutritionist there with goal to starve cancer. Also taking supplements - paw paw, black cumin seed, and ellagic to boost immune system.

The diet is kicking my butt though. It is so exclusive of most everything I enjoy except some fruits and poultry. It's kind of depressing and sometimes I have to force myself to eat because I don't really enjoy meals at all. I've lost about 9 pounds in last month. Any suggestions on preparing tasty low carb veggies and/or beans is appreciated.

I get next bloodwork and scan within 2 weeks. Trying to be optimistic that my body will take over job of chasing Chester (UPSC) away before I have to resort to chemo.

Wishing blessings on you all, Mary Ann

Comments

• Jackie53
    Jackie53 Member Posts: 4 Member
    Do you like soup?
    Hi Mary Ann,

I found a recipe for low carb cauliflower leek soup on Allrecipes.com that looks tasty. If you check it out, be sure to read the reviews because the original recipe has cream in it but the first reviewer substituted navy beans for the cream and said it was great. I'm going to make this soup in the next day or two myself!

Best wishes,
    Jackie
  • norma2
    norma2 Member Posts: 479
    Wishing you blessings to you too
    Hope Chester gets the hint and leaves. Wish I had suggestions for the diet. Just writing to wish you the best and know I read your posts. You are an inspiration.
  • HellieC
    HellieC Member Posts: 524 Member
    Sorry your CA125 is rising, Mary Ann