I am new here. I wasn't sure where to post.

tar
tar Member Posts: 3
Hi, I lost my dad to cancer in April of this year. Although, I am 28 with a family of my own I have a hard time every now and then. My husband is great at comforting me. Work and hobbies keep me occupied. (I am a nurse and love what I do.) These past two days have been hard.. I've been thinking a lot about my dad and its the memories that make me hurt. Its so weird to say that my dad is gone. Just like that. I expected to deal with a parent's death later in life, not now. I've become sad and angry sometimes. I try not to show it around my family but I'm sure they see it as me being grumpy. Anyway... Any advice? Tips? Hopes? I need others who have been where I am now to help me. Its strange, I thought I was doing so well... Then this hit me a few days ago. I work nights as a RN.. I am not working tonight but I cannot sleep. I keep remembering my dad and I keep getting sad. I want to feel better. I am angry but I am not angry at anyone. So where do I channel it?

Comments

• rickfighter
    rickfighter Member Posts: 2
    Cancer support
    Hi, sorry to hear about your dad. It will take some time and effort but, I think the best way is to think on a positive note, because he would not want you feel the way you do.

Look back at his life and focus on the positive things about him. I wish you the best and will send him my prayers.

-Rick
    My Cancer Story
  • donna_lee
    donna_lee Member Posts: 1,042 Member

Cancer support
    Hi, sorry to hear about your dad. It will take some time and effort but, I think the best way is to think on a positive note, because he would not want you feel the way you do.

Look back at his life and focus on the positive things about him. I wish you the best and will send him my prayers.

-Rick
    My Cancer Story

Memories
    TAR