Where can I find statistics on radiation therapy outcomes after surgery?

KathyLQ
KathyLQ Member Posts: 100
My boyfriend, 71, had prostate surgery (removal) in Nov. The docs now want to give him radiation daily for 7 weeks. They wouldn’t give him statistics, I'm not sure it was discussed.
This isn’t new, thousands of men surely have gone through this. Can anyone please point me to statistics on outcomes of radiation vs. any other form of treatment, after surgery?

Comments

• djbuk
    djbuk Member Posts: 24 Member
    more information would be usefull
    Hi Kathy, I'm no expert and with with no pathology details or psa info post op. there is not much I can say to help. However, it does appear that your boyfriend has a rising psa following his operation and the doctors are thinking that radiation might deal with this and so will likely be treating him with intent of cure. At this stage any remaining cancer cells are likely (hopefully) to be in the prostate bed and so can be targeted with radiation.
    This is called salvage radiation and I beleive the outcomes are good. But, a lot depends on factors like psa doubling time, gleason score, extra prostatic extension, surgical margin status and post op. staging.
    Other forms of treatment for post surgery are not aimed at cure but at disease management and although some are very effective at slowing down disease they should not be compared with radiation aimed at cure.
    There really is too little information and too many variables for you to gain much if anything from what I have said but don't worry - the big guns will be along soon and offer some proper help.

God bless
  • KathyLQ
    djbuk said:

more information would be usefull