Waiting for surgery and terrified

Hi,
This is my first time posting here. I'm a stay at home mom, in my thirties with 2 little kids and always thought I was pretty healthy. I'm slim, don't drink or smoke and eat really healthy. I'd had an abnormal result of a routing urine test - showing some protien in the urine and was concerned, so I followed up with my doc. She said that she was sure it was just a blip, but I pushed to repeat it and it was the same. She referred me to a nephrologist and one ultrasound, followed by one CT scan later, I recieved the call that most of you have received ..."I'm sorry, but it's a mass - almost definitely cancer". I have to admit, I wasnt terribly suprised. I've been tired and listless and have had a feeling that something was not right in my body. I've also been having this wierd burning indigestion for the past few months.
I've been "interviewing" surgeons in NYC and think I've found someone, but am not sure how soon to schedule. They think that the 'thing' is about 1.5 - 2cm and didnt see evidence of metastasis on the CT. I was going to go in for surgery on 12/7, but that is 3 weeks away. The other option is the day before Thanksgiving. No prizes for guessing why that day is available.
I feel totally violated and invaded by this tumor and want it out.
The doctors I've spoken to seem to think that there is no need to rush. I feel a sense of urgency though. Am I making myself crazy? Does anyone have any advice for me? Should I push for earlier surgery or take my time and be better prepared.
I would really appreciate any input because I'm scared out of my mind and moving from a place of fear is sometimes a bad idea.

Comments

• lbinmsp
    lbinmsp Member Posts: 266
    Hello
    and welcome. I'm so sorry you've had to join this little club but very glad you found us.